Sign up for our daily e-mail newsletter

Got a story? Email us:


16 C

Council election battle underway as Gedling candidates announced


THE election battleground is officially up and running – with Nottinghamshire County Council releasing its list of Gedling candidates fighting for seats in May’s crunch contest.

The 2017 Nottinghamshire County Council elections take place on Thursday, May 4.

This is the full list of candidates hoping to win seats in Gedling:

Arnold North

- Advertisement -
  • Allan, Pauline Annette (Labour Party)
  • Faulconbridge, James Anthony Patrick (Conservative Party Candidate)
  • Jones, Tad (Liberal Democrat)
  • Norris, Jim (Green Party Stop Fracking Now)
  • Payne, Michael Richard (Labour Party)
  • Pepper, Carol (Conservative Party Candidate)
  • Rose, George Eric (UK Independence Party (UKIP))
  • Swift, Andrew Julian (Liberal Democrat)
  • Thompson, Jeannie (Green Party Stop Fracking Now)
  • Voce, David William (UK Independence Party (UKIP))

Arnold South

  • Adams, Michael James (Conservative Party Candidate)
  • Clarke, William John (Labour Party)
  • Hart, John Colin (UK Independence Party (UKIP))
  • Stansfield, Jason Martin (Liberal Democrat)
  • Stuart, Jim (Green Party Stop Fracking Now)
  • Swift, Robert Andrew (Liberal Democrat)
  • Truman, Jean Olive (UK Independence Party (UKIP))
  • Vince, Margret Susan Barbara (Green Party Stop Fracking Now)
  • Walker, Jane Maria (Conservative Party Candidate)
  • Weisz, Muriel (Labour Party)


  • Elliott, Boyd Bryan (The Conservative Party Candidate)
  • Hope, Mike (Labour Party)
  • Waters, Lee (UK Independence Party (UKIP))
  • Wright, Marguerite Anne (Liberal Democrat)

Carlton East

  • Brooks, Nicki (Labour and Co-operative Party)
  • Doyle, Kevin Backhouse (Conservative Party Candidate)
  • Ellis, Ray (Independent)
  • Flynn, John Edward (Liberal Democrat)
  • Roebuck, Graham Kenneth (UK Independence Party (UKIP))

Carlton West

  • Baldwin, Laurence James (The Green Party)
  • Clarke, Ged (Conservative Party Candidate)
  • Creamer, Jim (Labour Party)
  • Dawson, Robert James (Conservative Party Candidate)
  • Ellwood, Andrew Mark (Liberal Democrat)
  • Henry, Errol George (Labour Party)
  • Hughes, Paul Anthony (Liberal Democrat)
  • Loi, Piero (UK Independence Party (UKIP))
  • Pritchard, Philip Anthony (UK Independence Party (UKIP))


- Advertisement -
  • Barnfather, Christopher Paul (The Conservative Party Candidate)
  • Connick, Rebecca (Green Party)
  • Smith, Michael John (Labour Party)
  • Waters, Rhea (UK Independence Party (UKIP)
  • Watts, David Kenneth (Liberal Democrat)

264 candidates in total have been nominated for the 66 seats being contested across the county. The seats make-up 56 areas of the county, known as divisions. The number of councillors representing each division depends on factors including their size and population.

Due to boundary changes which come into force at this election, following a review by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, nearly all the divisions have changed in either name, size or both. Voters are reminded to double-check their poll card in case the location of their polling station has changed as a result.

Further information about the election, including registering to vote, and applying for a postal or proxy vote, is available from your local District / Borough council website or the Electoral Commission at

Spotted something? Got a story? Email our newsdesk

Read more from Gedling Eye

Get your daily news briefing every evening…

Sign up for our daily news email and receive Gedling borough news direct to your email inbox in the early evening, to read at your leisure on your desktop, tablet or mobile wherever you are.

We don’t spam and you'll only receive one email a day

Join the discussion


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Stories you may have missed...