Labour win Nottingham East

 Labour win Nottingham East

PICTURED: Nadia Whittome

Share this:

Labour has taken control of Nottingham East after Chris Leslie lost the seat this morning,

Nadia Whittome will now be MP for Nottingham East.

The new MP had been in hospital earlier on in the day, and began her acceptance speech apologising for her lost voice.

Nadia told Local Democracy Reporter Kit Sanderman she was ‘deeply saddened’ not able to bring Labour’s transformative manifesto into Government.

PICTURED: New MP Nadia Whittmore

She said: “I applaud Jeremy Corbyn and the radical vision of the Labour Party. Long may that continue. I’m completely inspired by radical voices all over the world, from Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez in the US to our own in the UK, and that is what we must bring forward over the next five years.

Nottingham East

Nadia Whittome, Labour – 25,735 voteselected

Victoria Stapleton, Conservative – 8,343 votes

Robert Swift, Liberal Democrat – 1,954 votes

Chris Leslie, The Independent Group for Change – 1,447 votes

Damian Smith, Brexit Party – 1,343 votes

Michelle Vacciana, Green Party – 1, 183 votes

The turnout was 63.7%


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.