Gedling’s electoral wards could be set to change when new draft boundaries are announced next week

More articles

Adam Toms
Adam Toms
Adam has a keen interest in local politics and writes a number of articles for Gedling Eye covering local council activities and political issues affecting the borough.

Gedling residents will soon be invited to have their say on a new political map for the borough.

The Independent Boundary Commission for England will shortly be accepting comments from the public as it decides on new nationwide constituency boundaries.

The alterations will be implemented in 2023 ahead of the next scheduled general election in 2024.

A previous review in 2017 suggested the redrawing of the Parliamentary boundary for Gedling.

Under these plans, the incumbent Conservative, Tom Randall MP’s current constituency would be disbanded, with Carlton and Netherfield being absorbed by the larger areas of Carlton and Nottingham East.

- Advertisement -

Arnold would join with Sherwood.

Arnold town centre
PICTURED: Arnold would join with Sherwood

This was not implemented, but this year’s discussions could see these alterations back on the table.

After the release of maps – as part of nine regional reviews – of newly proposed changes at midnight on June 8, the public will be able to submit their thoughts to the commission at until 2 August.

Public hearings will also be conducted.

A second consultation will then be conducted from Spring 2022, proposals being revised in the Autumn of that same year.

The commission states that the views of electors resulted in 50% of initial proposals being altered in 2018. 

The Secretary of the Commission, Tim Bowden, told the Gedling Eye that the review hopes to “reflect more up to date communities” nationwide as “communities have changed” since the last review.  

- Advertisement -

He also hopes that the public will ‘say if we’ve got the boundaries right’ as the commission aims to ensure that all constituencies have “roughly the same number” of voters.

The committee hopes that measures will make sure each area has “equalised” elector numbers between approximately 69,000 and 77,000.

The number of MPs – currently 650 – will stay the same.  



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

- Advertisement -

Don't Miss