MPs last night voted to take control of parliament in a bid to stop a no-deal Brexit going ahead next month.

The vote was won by 328 to 301 with 21 Conservative MPs voting for the motion, defying their own party.

The prime minister said last night that the MPs’ bill would effectively “hand control” of Brexit negotiations to the EU and bring “more dither, more delay, more confusion”.

He told MPs that he now had no choice but to press ahead with efforts to call an October election, saying: “The people of this country will have to choose.”

The result means the MPs will be able to take control of Commons business on Wednesday.

That will give them the chance to introduce a cross-party bill which would force the prime minister to ask for Brexit to be delayed until January 31, unless MPs approve a new deal, or vote in favour of a no-deal exit, by October 19.

So how did our three local MPs vote on taking control of Parliament last night? Here’s a look:

Vernon Coaker – Gedling

Labour MP Vernon Coaker voted for the motion to take control of Commons business

Mark Spencer – Sherwood

Conservative MP Mark Spencer voted against the motion to take control of Commons business

Chris Leslie – Nottingham East


The Independent Group for Change MP voted for the motion to take control of Commons business.

For the latest news from Gedling Borough check out our homepage



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.