Gedling NewsNews

‘Are you in this video?’: People in Gedling borough targeted in Facebook Messenger scam

People in Gedling borough say they are being targeted by fraudsters using Facebook Messenger to try and steal account details.

A number of our readers have contacted us about receiving a suspicious message from one of their Facebook Messenger contacts over the past few days which reads: “Really! Is this you in this video?”

The recipient is usually named in the scam message to make it look more convincing.

The scam message also contains what looks like a link to a YouTube video.

Those who click on the link will be taken to a fake YouTube or Facebook log in page controlled by the fraudster hoping to discover genuine log in details and take control of their victim’s account.

A spokesman for the anti-cyber scam website Hoax-slayer.net said: “The messages are scams designed to steal your Facebook account login details or trick you into installing malware.

We received several of the scam messages on our Gedling Eye Facebook Messenger account earlier today: (IMAGE: Gedling Eye)

“The messages are sent from Facebook accounts that have been compromised by criminals and used to launch spam and scam campaigns. If you get one of these messages from a Facebook friend, it most likely means that your friend’s account has been hijacked.”

“If you click the link in one of these messages, you may be taken to a fraudulent website that has been designed to look like a Facebook login page.

“A message on the site will claim that you must log in before you can see the video. In reality, there is no video. If you enter your Facebook email address and password on the fake site, criminals can collect the information and use it to hijack your Facebook account. They can then use your account to send the same scam messages to all of your friends.”

READ MORE:  Gedling is the eighth cheapest place to run a car in England

They added: “If you receive one of these messages, do not click any links that it contains. And, try to let the friend that owns the account that the message came from know that his or her account may have been compromised.”

Lucy Hickman from Arnold was one of the people who contacted Gedling Eye about being targeted by the scam.

She said: “This message really scared me. It’s designed to worry you into clicking the link because you are meant to think that you could be in some video that’s gone viral.

“The only reason I didn’t click on it is because someone at work had also been targeted and told me to delete it. I’d urge others to do the same.”

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter

* indicates required
Tags

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button
Close
Close