Eagles kick-off pre-season campaign against Basford


Arnold kicked off their pre-season campaign last week against a strong Basford CFC side made up of academy players and a few fringe first teamers.

Arnold’s new-look side had only one recognised face from last season, which saw Mason Frizzell at centre half. A number of trialists were involved for Arnold and it was clear that the side were rather disjointed and looked like a team newly thrown together.

Basford took the lead early when a long ball wasn’t dealt with by the centre half and Harry Wakefield who had scored four earlier in the day for Basford’s first team slotted home. Basford made it two after 20 minutes when Arnold keeper dithered on the ball and was closed down, which allowed Wakefield the opportunity to slot in his second of the game. It wasn’t all one way traffic, just silly mistakes costing Arnold. Blewitt and Boafo looked threats on either flank, while Blair was occupying the Basford centre halves. Basford made it 3 through a flowing move and Arnold were being punished for their own mistakes.

The second half saw a few changes, with goalkeeper Randy Bonsu entering the fray, Danny Dixon dropping into centre half to offer a voice and the introduction of Mitchell Looker, into central midfield and Jordan Phillips to right back. Dixon provided much needed leadership from centre half and ensured a high line was adhered too, unlike the first half. Bonsu saved well on a few occasions in the second half, but the goal of the game came from Arnold’s Jourdan Blair (pictured), with a 25 yard free kick into the top corner which went in off the post! All in all, it was a chance to get minutes under their belts and a chance for the management to assess players on trial.

READ MORE:  MATCH REPORT: Morpeth Town 4-0 Carlton Town

Arnold will train on Tuesday and Thursday evening this week meeting at 19.00pm at Eagle Valley.  The side will then travel to AFC Dunkirk on Saturday, July 15 for their next pre-season friendly.

Arnold Town Squad:  Davidè, Randy Bonsu, Rashaan Francis , Mason Frizell, Connor Winstanley, Will Bouwen, Danny Dixon, James Greenhalgh, Jack Upton, David Boafo, Jourdan Blair, Aidan Blewitt, Jordan Phillips, Justin Jenkins, Mitchell Looker, Jason Jude, Alex Devey

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.